The Reykjavik International Literary Festival  is one of the major literary events in Iceland and is held bi-annually. The last festival took place 7-11 September 2011 in the Nordic House and a local theater, Iðnó.

The festival is organized by volunteers. The board of the Reykjavík International Literary Festival is chaired by Sigurður G. Valgeirsson. Other board members are Einar Kárason, Halldór Guðmundsson, Max Dager, Pétur Már Ólafsson, Sjón, Þorgerður Agla Magnúsdóttir and Örnólfur Thorsson. Also working for the festival are Stella Soffía Jóhannesdóttir and Hulda Lárusdóttir.

Many of the world’s best-known authors have attended the Reykjavík Literary Festival in the 20 years since its inception in 1985, amongst them Gunter Grass, Isabel Allende, Jose Saramago, Haruki Murakami, A. S. Byatt, Kurt Vonnegut, Fay Weldon, Paul Auster and many others.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s